Thumbs up pall

De Nederlandse tekst staat lager

Liverpool and Manchester are already behind me, but they keep following me actively. After the Snake Pass I descent to the genetische unit in Sheffield. There, Oliver has prepared my arrival. He tells me about his experiences with Huntington. There is even a special guest, Kris King. He organized “Coast Hunting” to raise funds for Huntington and is already thinking about the next coast line he can bike.

I traverse Peak District for the last time in order to reach Stoke-On-Trent in time. The local work group and the Huntington association is fully ready. It turns out to be a short visit because I am trying to get as close as possible to Oxford the same evening. Deep in the night I roll out my sleeping mat for the last time. All in all, a short night as I am awakened early by the local whistlers.

The Churchill Hospitaal makes sure that my journey does not pass by unnoticed in Oxford. Professor Andrea and her team are delighted to meet me. As for the other university hospitals in England, they are connected to Enroll, the international data base for HD. I finish my day in Northampton St-Andrews. The surprise of the day is a traditional tea-time in the garden. We take pictures with the mostly psychological charged Huntington patient. Even after the many kilometers, I am still surprised by these unexpected and, above all, rich encounters.

After 300 km without real shower or bed I can really use the offered hotel. Amazing how intense a shower can be. With the stomach filled and mentally strengthened I ride to Cambridge, that other historical city. Here I visit the university department that does research on sheep with Huntington. Cognitive behavior is tested with the hope to develop a therapy to help people with Huntington. The summer students take me along in their busy night life. Also that is Cambridge. I feel at home 😉

London is waiting for me a but further. The last world city I visit before the final sprint to my own world city in Waasland. I’ll soak up the atmosphere. My last visits are drawing near. Fonne, here I come.

——————–

Liverpool en Manchester liggen al even achter me, maar ze blijven me actief volgen. Vuistje voor de ganse bende. Ik daal na de Snake Pass af naar de genetische afdeling in Sheffield. Daar heeft Oliver mijn komst voorbereid. Hij vertelt over zijn ervaringen met Huntington. Er is nog een “special guest” gekomen, namelijk Kris King. Hij deed de actie “Coast Hunting” om geld in te zamelen voor Huntington en is al met zijn gedachten bij de volgende kustlijn die hij kan affietsen.

Ik doorkruis nog een laaste keer het Peak District om tijdig in Stoke-on-Trent te geraken. De lokale werkgroep en de lokale Huntingtonafdeling staan me op te wachten. Het wordt een kort bezoek, want dezelfde avond probeer ik nog zo dicht mogelijk bij Oxford te geraken. Diep in de nacht rol ik voor de laatste keer mijn slaapmatje uit. Een korte nacht weliswaar, want ik de lokale fluiters wekken me al vroeg in de ochtend. Gauw zet ik mijn lange rit voort.

Het Churchill Hospitaal in Oxford laat mijn tocht niet onopgemerkt voorbij gaan. Professor Andrea en haar team zijn zeer verheugd me te ontmoeten. Zij zijn zoals de andere universitaire ziekenhuizen in Engeland verbonden met Enroll, de internationale databank voor HD. Mijn dag sluit ik af in Northampton St-Andrews. De verrassing van de dag is een traditionele ‘tea-time’ in de tuin. Ik ga op de foto met de hier vooral mentaal belaste bewoners. Zelfs na al die duizenden kilometer blijven deze onverwachte maar vooral rijke ontmoetingen me verbazen.

Het aangeboden hotel kan ik na 300 km zonder douche of echt bed meer dan gebruiken. Fantastisch hoe een douche zo intens kan zijn! De maag goed gevuld en opnieuw mentaal gesterkt rij ik naar Cambridge, die andere historische stad. Hier bezoek ik de universiteitsafdeling waar onderzoek gebeurt op schapen met Huntington. Cognitief gedrag wordt getest met de hoop een therapie te ontwikkelen om mensen met Huntington te helpen. De zomerstudenten nemen me mee in hun drukke nachtleven, ook dat is Cambridge, I feel at home 🙂

Iets verderop ligt Londen op me te wachten, de wereldstad die ik nog aandoe voor ik mijn eindspurt kan inzetten naar mijn eigen wereldstad in het Waasland. Ik ga de stad maar even kunnen beleven. Mijn laatste bezoeken komen dichterbij. Fonne, here I come!

DSC_1111

DSC_1114

DSC_1117

DSC_1124

DSC_1125

DSC_1127

DSC_1129

DSC_1130

DSC_1136

DSC_1144

DSC_1151

DSC_1154

DSC_1157

Reageer

